Old Version FAQs Contact Us Chinese Русский
Home >> News >> Content
Prof. Yao Jun Elected as 2020 Recipient of SPE and AIME Honorable Membership

Prof. Yao Jun (the central)

Recently, Prof. Yao Jun, vice-president of China University of Petroleum, was elected as 2020 recipient of SPE and AIME Honorable Membership. As the highest honor awarded to individuals by SPE, only 156 people worldwide have won this honor since its set up in 1941 and Prof. Yao become the first Chinese local scientist to receive the high distinction.

SPE is the largest individual-member organization serving managers, engineers, scientists and other professionals in the upstream segment of the oil and gas industry. From its founding as a committee within the American Institute of Mining Engineers (AIME) in the early 1900s, it has grown into an independent, nonprofit global society with more than 153,000 members in 143 countries. Honorary Membership is the highest honor that SPE presents to an individual and is limited to 0.1% of the SPE total membership. This elite group represents those individuals who have given outstanding service to SPE or have demonstrated distinguished scientific or engineering achievements in the fields within the technical scope of SPE.

Prof. Yao is the director of Oil and Gas Seepage Research Center of China University of Petroleum and the academic member of the International Porous Media Society (InterPore) (head of the Chinese branch). Since joining SPE in 1997, he has helped to establish UPC SPE student branch and scholarship fund.

Prof. Yao has engaged in multiphase flow in porous media research and teaching work. He proposed the theoretical framework of modern seepage mechanics, and formed the seepage simulation method in five scales including molecular scale, pore scale, core scale, Darcy scale and fracture large scale as well as the scale associated upscaling method. He established numerical simulation methods for unconventional reservoirs and fracture-vuggy carbonate rock reservoirs and intelligent oilfield production optimization method based on machine learning and big data approach. His research work promotes theoretical development and engineering application of seepage mechanics. He has presided over the national 863 Program project, 973 Program project, National Natural Science Foundation of China. More than 240 papers have been published in top journals, such as Angew. Chem. Int. Edit. , Nano Lett., Journal of Fluid Mechanics, Water Resources Research, SPE Journal, Journal Comput. Phys., Chinese Science Bulletin and Science China, etc. . He has won 1 second prize of National Technology Invention Award, 1 second prize of National Science and Technology Progress Award, 1 first prize of Natural Science Award of the Ministry of Education, and 2 first prizes of Science and Technology Award of China Petroleum and Chemical Industry Federation.

The award ceremony will be held during  2020 SPE Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition.

 Updated: 2020-06-30

Prev:Welcome home: Students Returned to the Campus

Next:2020 Graduation Ceremony Held